4 things I’m always willing to splurge on (and 4 things I prefer to splurge on)

We all know that the economy is bad but we also know that there are things that we are always willing to splurge on. We’ve tried the generic but it just doesn’t measure up. This has happened to everyone… and if it hasn’t happened to you than you must not be real.

 

 

 

 

 

So here it is: My list (in no particular order) of the five things I am always willing to splurge on (because I know you are dying to know.):

 

Face wash

 

 

 

A few months ago, I was looking to save money so I decided to switch to generic face wash. I checked the ingredients, they were all the same. So I went for it.

 

THAT WAS THE WORST MISTAKE I COULD HAVE MADE!

 

You see, the ingredients were the same but the consistency was different. That threw everything off. When I wash my face with the name brand face wash, it just feels different. I can feel it cleaning my skin and when I step into the fresh air, my face just feels cleaner.

 

What I’m splurging on: Neutrogena Deep Clean Cream Cleanser

 

 

 

Bras

 

 

Did you know that most women don’t actually know their bra size?  

 

 

 

That doesn’t really have much to do with this…I just felt like telling you.

 

Here’s what is relevant:

 

The bra is the most important part of a woman’s wardrobe. That’s why I’m always willing to splurge on a good bra. When you buy a cheap bra, you can’t expect much from it. This is one of those things where you get what you pay for. A good bra will give you support all day and keep them up where they are supposed to be.

 

 

What I’m splurging on: Cacique Bras by Lane Bryant. They have great bras if you are plus sized or on the bustier side.

 

 

 

Underwear

 

 

 

 

I don’t have much to say about underwear except for the fact that you should definitely not buy the cheap kind. They will stretch out and wear out and ride up.

 

This is another important part of your wardrobe so why not indulge
a little and be comfortable all day.

 

What I’m splurging on: Cacique panties from Lane Bryant.

 

 

 

Jeans

 

 

 

Much like cheap underwear, cheap jeans have a tendency to wear out and stretch out really quickly. That’s why I think it’s really important to spend a little more. I would rather spend $60 on a pair of jeans and have them last 6+ months then buy a pair for $20 and have them only last about 2 or 3.

 

What I’m splurging on: I get my jeans from Lane Bryant. What can I say, they have good merchandise.

 

 

 

 

Wasn’t that interesting!? Now, just for fun, I wrote a list of the four things I PREFER to splurge on:

 

Nail Polish

 

 

 

Of course I buy cheap nail polish. Every girl does. You want a color change and you have no money so you go for the bottle at the drug store that $1-$2. It works. It goes on fine but it chips in a couple of days.

 

That’s fine if you want to change your color often but I don’t like to do that.

 

What I prefer to splurge on: I really like Sally Hansen, Essie, Avon, and O.P.I

 

 

 

Mascara

 

 

 

Once upon a time, I bought really cheap mascara. About two weeks after I started using it, it got clumpy and developed an odor.

 

Since then I have purchased cheap mascara again but it’s definitely not a preference.

 

What I prefer to splurge on: Cover Girl Lash Blast Mascara

 

 

 

Toothpaste

 

 

 

I’m sure that this seems like such an odd thing to include but it’s a big deal to me. I feel like certain toothpastes clean better than others.

 

What I prefer to splurge on: Aquafresh Extreme Clean Toothpaste

 

 

 

Shampoo and Conditioner

 

 

 

My biggest issue with my hair is that it is very fine and it gets dirty very quickly. I wash my hair almost every day (and yes I know that you are not supposed to do that but I do it anyway and it works for me so I don’t need a thousand lectures on the subject.)

 

I have found that while some shampoos and conditioners clean my hair well, others leave behind residue.

 

What I prefer to splurge on: Herbal Essences Color Me Happy Shampoo and Conditioner.

 

 

So there it is.

 

Here’s what I want to add; I’m sure that a lot of you are looking at this list and thinking that I’m not really splurging but here is my justification: In this economy and with my salary, these are most definitely splurges for me.

 

I hope these lists will make your shopping decisions easier.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “4 things I’m always willing to splurge on (and 4 things I prefer to splurge on)

  1. Julia

    Whenever I get cheap underwear from Target, it is not long before the elastic bands start coming off because the stitching breaks. I’m officially splurging on underwear from now on.

Leave a Reply

