5 Reasons why I love the Little Black Dress

Every woman should have a little black dress.

That is one of those facts of life. It’s like the sky being blue and the grass being green. There are probably a million reasons why we should love the little black dress. I chose the top five and I share them with you now.

 

5.Black goes with everything and is good for every occasion

How often do you find yourself saying “I have nothing to
wear” when you are getting ready for an occasion? I know I say that all the
time. Then I find my little black dress in the back of my closet. This dress
has been worn to weddings, funerals, and even to work a couple of times. The
little black dress is so basic that it can be worn whenever you need it. I know mine has saved the day on more than one occasion.

4. They can be accessorized a million different ways to create a million different looks

I know I sound like a broken record but the fact that the
little black dress is so basic is one of the best things about it. It’s the color black. It can be paired with any other color or pattern. In fact, It is preferred (in my mind, at least) that there should be a pop of color if you are going to wear all black.

I have to wear all black to my job and I have gotten into the habit of wearing patterned or brightly colored shoes or a scarf or something with every outfit.

3. Slimming

 

Big surprise, Black is slimming. This is great when you are having fat days or whatever is going on in your life.

2. Flattering on everyone

 

Here is another point of it being so basic. Whether you are a size 00 or a 36 or young girl or an old lady or a drag queen, anyone can wear the little black dress and here’s why:

They come in all shapes, cuts, and sizes!

If you need an A-Line, there’s a little black dress for that.

If you need an empire waist, there’s a little black dress for that.

If you need it long, there’s a little black dress for that.

If you need it short, there’s a little black dress for that.

I could do this all day but I think you get my point. There’s a dress for everyone and everyone with a dress!
1. Coco Chanel basically invented them

 

Obviously black dresses were around before her but, she made them more popular. Coco Chanel was all about having basic pieces that everyone could afford and wear everyday with any accessories. Looking back, it’s clear that she was successful in her attempts. Now the Little Black Dress in a woman’s closet is as common as a pair of jeans in the drawer.

So thank you Coco Chanel for changing the world of fashion with everything you did.

I know that you all agree with my assessment. If you don’t have a little black dress, go get one and feel a little bit of shame that you didn’t already have one.

I’m just kidding

sort of.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “5 Reasons why I love the Little Black Dress

  1. I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.

    Does one offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome blog!

    • Christine Perkins

      Thank you so much! Your comment kind of inspired me to start writing again.

      I hadnt planned on having any guest writers right now but definitly feel free to comment if you want to post something or elaborate on any subjects. I’d love to hear what you have to say.

  2. Pingback: 12 things that I can’t live without in my wardrobe | dressforms

  3. First off I would like to say awesome blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing. I’ve had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
    Many thanks!

    • Christine Perkins

      Hi! I’m sorry it took so long to respond. December is a busy month for me.

      To be honest, I have a really rough time getting my thoughts together to write. I tend to spend a lot of time looking at pinterest while im trying to think of what to say. One post takes me about an entire day to write… sometimes more.

      The best way for me to get started is to come up with an idea, make an outline and then just fill it in.

      I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

