The SAG Awards

Its awards season so you know this is another red carpet blog. Look at me! I’m finishing a red carpet blog the day after it happens! (Well, I wrote most of it the day after it happened so that’s close enough) I’m getting better at this before the Oscars and it looks like I’m not the only one.

 

This week, we are trying something different because it was hard for me to find worst dressed candidates and the trends on the carpet were the same as last week.

 

Instead, I thought I would just talk about some of the gowns that I really liked.

 

Mila Kunis

 

I am in love with the dress that Mila Kunis wore. This red, black, and white Alexander McQueen gown was beautiful with a giant floral print all over. This dress was a big change from the dress she wore at the Golden Globes. I thought she went with a more laid back look this time around.

Natalie Portman

Remember the Golden Globes? Remember the rose? Well, she did much better this time. She showed off her baby bump in a white Azzaro gown. This was definitely an improvement from her Viktor and Rolf gown two weeks ago.

 

Tina Fey

I just have to say wow. Tina Fey rarely wears anything like this. She rocked a red Oscar de la Renta gown. Although she always looks beautiful, she looked especially stunning at this particular event. 

 

Julia Stiles

The first time I looked at this gown, I thought it was black and white but it was actually dark blue and white. I love the way that the colors blend together on this Monique Lhuillier gown.

 

Dianna Agron

How could you go wrong with vintage Chanel? This navy blue tea length gown looked classic and elegant on the “Glee” star. It also combined two of the biggest trends on the red carpet, bows and sequins.

                

Julie Bowen

I have loved Julie Bowen ever since she was Carol Vessey on the show Ed. That has nothing to do with what I’m about to say about her outfit, I just thought I’d share.

 

I LOVE that she wore pants to this event. This Catherine Malandrino was elegant and classy.

 

Sofia Vergara

I love (almost) everything about this dress. The front of this bright blue Roberto Cavalli gown looks almost braided on the front. The dress hugged her curves perfectly. She looked great.

 

Angela Kinsey

You know me; I always like to include someone who you wouldn’t expect to see on a list like this. That’s one of the reasons why I included Angela Kinsey.

 

The other reason is because I loved this look. Normally I’m not a fan of the one shoulder look but it looked great on her. The forties inspired black Jovani Couture gown looked beautiful on the “Office” star.

 

Rosario Dawson

I’m a sucker for all things yellow. That’s probably why I love this yellow J. Mendel Grecian style gown. It’s very simple and still very pretty. That’s what makes it so great.

 

Mindy Kaling

I love this Grecian look. It looks especially great on Mindy Kaling. This white Tadashi Shojis Grecian gown looks great on this stylish and hilarious “Office” writer and star.

                          

I’m going to give a most improved award (yeah, I can do that) to…

 

Helena Bonham Carter!

 

I know, you are shocked, right? When we last saw Helena, she looked as if she had just rolled out of a dumpster. Her hair was a mess, her dress was a mess, and her shoes didn’t match. This time around, at the very least, she matched.

She walked the red carpet in a tea-length black and white Marc Jacobs gown. The top was studded with pearls and the bottom was covered in ruffles. I will admit, it is not the greatest dress but it was definitely an improvement.

 

The first look gave me the impression that she was trying very hard not to care. I think that the second time around, she took this a little more seriously.

 

There were a lot of improvements (fashion wise) at the SAG awards. At this rate, everyone will look fantastic by the Oscars. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

