The 2010 Emmys

This is my first post awards show blog and I am SO excited. I love awards shows. I can spend all day watching pre-shows and red carpet interviews (but at this point, I’m sure that’s not a huge shocker)

My first post awards show blog is about the 2010 Emmys. This year’s show was hosted by Jimmy Fallon. Mad Men won best drama and Modern Family won best comedy… That’s not really what I’m focused on.

What I really care about are the gowns. I have loved fancy gowns for as long as I can remember. I designed all of my homecoming and prom dresses (except for one).

Let’s talk about some of the trends I saw on the red carpet.

Dark Colors

Fall is the time for dark colors so

it was no surprise that a lot of stars were wearing dark colors. Lea Michelle did an amazing job with this look. Her dress was designed by Oscar De La Renta. Another Glee star who rocked navy blue is Jayma Mays in a dress by Burberry. Jane Lynch also went with a darker color in Ali Rahimi. Her long, dark purple dress was a great alternative to her usual track suits (glee humor).

 

Purple

There was so much purple on the red carpet. There were a few looks that stuck out. Once again, Jane Lynch fits in this category with her dark purple gown by Ali Rahimi. Right between the dark and the light sits the bright shades of purple. One example of this is Emily Deschanel’s dress by Max Azria Atelier. Emily Blunt (in Dior) and Christina Hendricks (in Zac Posen) went for a lighter shade of purple or lavender (if you prefer that name).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gray

Sometimes gray can be really dull and sometimes it can be so fantastic. One example of this is Toni Collette’s Valentino Gown. I thought that it was really gorgeous because the bottom looks like it was painted. I love that. Other women who went with this look were Cheryl Hines in Zac Posen, Modern Family’s Sarah Hyland in Pamella Roland, and Amy Poehler in Max Azria.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

White

If you’re not supposed to wear white after labor day, than these ladies came in just under the wire. Kim Kardashian wore a white Marchesa Grecian gown. One woman who broke the stereotype that says that white makes you look bigger was Amber Reily. This gown was so flattering to her plus sized shape. My favorite white look was Kiernan Shipka who plays Sally Draper on Mad Men. Seriously, she deserves a best dressed award. SOO CUTE!

 

Nude

I don’t mean naked people. I am talking about nude colored dresses. It is a look that is hard to pull off (no pun intended). Elisabeth Moss pulled off this look perfectly in Donna Karen. Mariska Hargitay also looked amazing in Vera Wang.

 

 

Blush

The last color that I want to talk about is Blush. It seems like this shade of pink is flattering on almost everyone. Dianna Agron mixed blush with black with her Carolina Herrera gown. Other great blush looks were Jewel’s lacy Zuhair Murad gown and Eva Amurri in Thierry Mugler.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sparkles, Sequins, Glitter, and all things Metallic

Gowns are supposed to be sparkly; it’s like a rule of nature. If a dress doesn’t shine, what’s the point of wearing it? So many women embraced this look this year. Its hard to list them all so I will list a few of the greats. Of course there was Claire Danes who looked amazing in Armani Privé. Then there was Susan Sarandon who looked beautiful in Donna Karen and Jennifer Westfeldt who looked wonderful in Armani. Other ladies who looked wonderful in sequins and crystals were Glee’s Heather Morris, Dexter’s Jennifer Carpenter, and Paula Abdul.

 

Now that we looked at the trends, lets look at my top five choices for the best and worst dressed:

(note: even though they are my top five choices, I have not ranked them in order… because I couldn’t decide which was the worst or the best.)

Worst:

Rita Willson in Prada: This was a horrible look for her. It looks like there is a chain net around her, shoes are awful, and it made her look… large.

Anna Paquin in Alexander McQueen: I love Alexander McQueen as much as the next person but this dress is all wrong. The top is too heavy and it definitely looks like a fancy bull fighters uniform.

January Jones in Atelier Versace: I think this dress is ridiculous. It is too structured and it looks like she is wearing one of Madonna’s cone bras from the eighties. Also, her hair is a mess.

 

Kerry Russell in Vintage Scherrer: The minute I saw this dress, I knew that I hated it. The fabric is weird, the color is awful and it is far too casual for an awards show like the Emmys.

 

Lauren Graham in Yigal Azrouel: I hate to say it, because I am the biggest  Gilmore Girls fan in the universe but this dress is awful. The bottom is lovely and her shoes were fantastic but the top doesn’t fit right and it looks like a bib.

 

Best

Claire Danes in Armani Privé: This dress was so fantastic I don’t even know how to describe it so just look at it.

 

Lea Michelle in Oscar De La Renta: Her dress was stunning. She looked amazing in it.

 

Jane Lynch in Ali Rahimi: Usually I am not a fan of the one shoulder look but she pulled this off wonderfully. It was a very elegant look. 

Elisabeth Moss in Donna Karen: Pulling off a nude gown is difficult to do but she looks amazing. I love the back

 

Amber Reily: This gown fit her so well. As I said before, white usually makes people look bigger but this dress looked amazing on her.

You may agree or disagree with my opinions… but you should know, This guy  likes my blog

I got my pictures and information from:

http://justjared.buzznet.com

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/08/29/emmys-2010-emmy-awards-red-carpet-fashion-dresses_n_698425.html#s132312

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1307373/Emmys-2010-Tom-Hanks-wife-Rita-Wilsons-fashion-faux-pas.html

http://www.stylebistro.com/Best+and+Worst+Dressed+at+the+2010+Primetime+Emmy+Awards

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The 2010 Emmys

  1. Mariska Hargitay. PERFECT

  2. Kristen

    I pretty much agree. Claire Danes definitely looked amazing (I saw some of the red carpet pre-show and had no idea that it was her for a good minute). For some reason, I get strong prom vibes from Lea Michelle. I think it’s the ruffles + the hair.

Leave a Reply

