Yellow

Yellow has been my favorite color for as long as I can remember. It was the brightest crayon in the box and that always caught my attention.

Lately, I’m seeing yellow EVERYWHERE and it makes sense. Yellow means sunshine, happiness, and slowing down. That’s the same definition of summer.

Last weekend, I attended two different parties and both of the hostesses were wearing yellow. After that, I started noticing it everywhere. It is one of those colors that goes with every color. There is a shade for everyone.

Here are some of my favorite places for the color this summer:

Swimsuits

 

   

“It was an itsy, bitsy, teenie, weenie, yellow polka-dot bikini, that she wore for the first time today, an itsy, bitsy, teenie, weenie, yellow polka-dot bikini, so in the water she wanted to stay” 

 

 

This song is a classic because yellow bathing suits are classics. It’s a great color next to a tan, sand, sunshine, and clear blue water.  

 

 

Speaking of tans:

 

 

Here are some swimsuit trends for 2010:

 

 

PLUS A yellow bathing suit was featured on the cover of the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue.

 

 

 

 

(This isn’t the cover because it was of course quite provocative, but it is the swimsuit, which I think is really cute)

 

 Tops

A great way to stand out is to wear yellow top. One of my favorite things I have seen so far this summer is a yellow plaid camp shirt that my friend wore to her graduation party. It was a fun, comfortable look that was perfect for a barbeque. (I dont have a picture right now but I will try to post one later)   A yellow top is an easy way to incorporate the color into your summer wardrobe.

Accessories

An even easier way to incorporate the color into your wardrobe is through accessories. I personally love my yellow purse that I found in a vintage shop in Traverse City, MI. It is something that I pair with just about every outfit in the summer. 

 

Another great accessory is, of course, shoes. Yellow pumps or even yellow flip flops are a great way to add a pop of color to your outfit. 

 Tip: Try matching a pair with a solid colored dress. Try black, brown, or purple.

Dresses

My absolute favorite yellow look this summer is the little yellow dress.It doesn’t have to be fancy or designer. This trend has been seen all over the red carpets this season.

http://www.shoppingthetrend.com/Summer-2010/summer-2010-fashion-trends-a-splash-of-soft-yellow.html 

There are so many fabrics, styles and shades to choose from. I love them all.  Here are some trends for dresses this summer:

 

I leave you with this: 

At the end of this past semester, I was having a tough time. I was dealing with awful people and the school work was hard. One day, I decided to wear my flowy yellow jersey knit dress to class because it made me happy. At about noon, I got a text from my roommate that said: “I heard the sun came out just for you and your yellow dress.”

SPREAD SOME SUNSHINE!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Yellow

  1. Lizzie

    This is adorible ! Write more ! Love you long time !

  2. Pingback: Spring 2011 Trends and Colors | dressforms

Leave a Reply

